Complex Biological Systems Group

Department of Mathematics, University of Pittsburgh

Home

About Us

Projects

People

Seminars

Publications

Photos



Theme Days 2012
Theme Days 2011
Theme Days 2010
Theme Days 2009

Complex Biological Systems Group
University of Pittsburgh
Department of Mathematics
301 Thackeray Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

cbsg@math.pitt.edu
Tel: (412) 624-6157
Fax: (412) 624-8397

People

Core Faculty

Training Faculty

Postdocs

Graduate Students

Undergraduate Students

Core Faculty

G. Bard Ermentrout
Mathematics
Applications of nonlinear dynamics to biological problems.
bard@math.pitt.edu
Jonathan Rubin
Mathematics
Theoretical and applied problems coming from neuroscience, as well as in inflammation and related issues.
rubin@math.pitt.edu
David Swigon
Mathematics
Mathematical modeling in biology on molecular, cellular and systems levels.
swigon@pitt.edu
Ivan Yotov
Mathematics
Numerical analysis and solution of partial differential equations and large scale scientific computing.
yotov@math.pitt.edu

Training Faculty

Gilles Clermont
Critical Care, UPMC
Medical Director of the Pittsburgh Center for Inflammation and Regeneration Modeling (CIRM).
clermontg@ccm.upmc.edu
Brent Doiron
Mathematics
Theoretical investigations of the influence of fluctuations and synchrony on neural coding.
bdoiron@pitt.edu
Michael Grabe
Biological Sciences
Mechanical properties of ion channels and transporters as well as their interactions with cellular membranes.
mdgrabe@pitt.edu
David Hackam
Pediatric Surgery, UPMC
Understanding the mechanisms governing the migration of intestinal epithelial cells during conditions of intestinal inflammation, such as necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC), Crohn's disease and infection.
David.Hackam@chp.edu
Qi Mi
Health & Rehabilitation Science
Developing mathematical models of relevance to sports training and injury rehabilitation, spinal cord injury, diabetic foot ulcers, and other settings in which inflammation and tissue damage/healing are implicated.
pittmiqi@gmail.com
William Troy
Mathematics
Integro-differential equation models of large scale neuronal activity.
troy@math.pitt.edu
Yoram Vodovotz
Surgery, Immunology, UPMC
Acute inflammation in vitro, in vivo, and in silico in settings as diverse as sepsis, trauma, cancer, vascular biology, wound healing, infectious and neurodegenerative diseases. neurodegenerative diseases.
vodovotzy@upmc.edu

Postdocs

Sarah Lukens
Mathematics
Modeling influenza A virus infection in humans, modeling systemic inflammation resulting from septic challenge, and dynamical systems approaches to understanding biological flow fields. slukens@pitt.edu

Robert Rosenbaum
Mathematics
The role of short term depression in altering information transfer and neuronal variability including implications for Parkinson's disease and deep brain stimulation therapy, balanced networks with spatially-dependent recurrent connections. robertr@pitt.edu

Graduate Students

Jeffrey DunworthMathematics

David Burstein
Mathematics
dab176@pitt.edu
Jeremy Harris
Mathematics
jdh71@pitt.edu
Abigail Snyder
Mathematics
acs73@pitt.edu
Shelby Stanhope
Mathematics
srs114@pitt.edu
Tracy Stepien
Mathematics
tls52@pitt.edu
Mark Tronzo
Mathematics
mat53@pitt.edu
Glenn Young
Mathematics
gsy2@pitt.edu

Undergraduate Students

Jeff Moulton
jtm59@pitt.edu
Jonathan Rubin
jjr37@pitt.edu
Paul Millington
psm7@pitt.edu
Max Nurnberger
mpn7@pitt.edu
Nate Fuhrman
nsf8@pitt.edu
Eliza O'Reilly
ewo2@pitt.edu
Oyindamola Owoeye
oao6@pitt.edu
Steven Reich
sdr32@pitt.edu

Alumni (Postdocs)

— 2012 —

Jared Barber (Alcoa)
Stefanos Folias (U of Alaska Anchorage)

— 2011 —

Julia Arciero (IUPUI)

Alumni (Graduate Students)

— 2012 —

Daniel Smith - National Institutes of Health
Lucy Spardy - Mathematical Biosciences Institute


— 2011 —

Aushra Abouzeid
Justin Dunmyre - University of Michigan
Sherry Linn


— 2010 —

Pamela Reitsma


— 2009 —

Callie Johnson - Pitt Bioengineering